Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation

Honoring Marines by educating their children

53rd Annual New York Leatherneck Celebratory Ball

NY Ball Navigation Links: Home | Honorees | Photos | CommitteeContribute |  

2014 Semper Fidelis Award Honoree 

Dr. J. Phillip (Jack) London
 Executive Chairman and Chairman of the Board, CACI International Inc.



2014 Leatherneck Award Honoree

Dr. Paul G. Kaminski
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Technovation, Inc.



2014 Military Guest of Honor

General John F. Kelly

Commander, United States Southern Command















Previous New York Leatherneck Ball Award Recipients

Semper Fidelis Award                                                    

 Year  Name  Title Organization 
1979 George Steinbrenner, III  Chairman  American Shipbuilding, Co.
     Owner  New York Yankees
1980 Donald O. Kendall  Chairman & CEO  PepsiCo, Inc.
1981 Robert O. Anderson  Chairman & CEO  Atlantic Richfield Co.
1982 John A. Meyers  Publisher  Time Magazine
1983 Harry J. Gray  Chairman, President & CEO  United Technologies, Corp.
1984 Zachary Fisher  Senior Member  Fisher Brothers
1986 The Honorable James A. Baker, III  Secretary  U.S. Department of the Treasury
1987 Edward J. Hennesy, Jr.  Chairman  Allied Signal, Inc.
1988 Robert R. Daniell  President & CEO  United Technologies, Corp.
1989 Donald E. Peterson  Chairman  Ford Motor Co.
1990 Louis E. Bantle  Chairman  U.S. Tobacco, Inc.
1991 Theodore H. Black  Chairman & CEO  Ingersol-Rand Co.
1992 Dennis Swanson  President  ABC Sports
1993 James R. Leva  Chairman, President & CEO  General Public Utilities Corp.
1994 Frank Gifford  Sports Commentator  ABC Sports
1995 James E. Hardyman  Chairman & CEO  Textron, Inc.
1996 George David  President & CEO  United Technologies, Corp.
1997 C. Michael Armstrong  Chairman & CEO  Hughes Electronics Corporation
1998 Dennis Picard  Chairman & CEO  Raytheon Company
1999 Alfred Lerner  Chairman & CEO  MBNA
2000 H. Wayne Huizenga  Chairman & CEO  Huizenga Holdings
2001 Peter M. Dawkins  Vice Chairman  Citigroup Private Bank
2002 Steven S. Reinemud  Chairman & CEO  PepsiCo, Inc.
2003 John Murphey  Chairman & CEO  Bell Helicopter Textron
2004 Mark S. Newman  Chairman, President & CEO  DRS Technologies, Inc.
2005 Mark Ronald  President & CEO  BAE Systems North America
2006 Kenneth C. Dahlberg  Chairman, President & CEO  SAIC
2007 H. Ross Perot  Founder  Electronic Data Systems (EDS)
2008 Michael T. Strianese  President & CEO  L-3 Communications Holdings
2009 Walter P. Havenstein  President & CEO  BAE Systems, Inc.
2010 MajGen Charles F. Bolden Jr. USMC (Ret)  NASA Administor  NASA
2011 Wes Bush President & CEO Northrup Grumman Corporation
2012 W. James McNerney, Jr. Chairman, President & CEO The Boeing Company
2013 Robert J. Stevens Executive Chairman Lockheed Martin Corporation


Colonel I. Robert Kriendler Memorial Award

Year Name Title Organization
1984 Mrs. Vincent Astor Author & Philanthropist  
1985 The Honorable James Baker III Secretary U.S.Department of the Treasury
1986 The Honorable William E. Simon Chairman Wesray Corporation
    Former Secretary U.S. Department of the Treasury 1974-1977 
1987 General Paul X. Kelley  28th Commandant  USMC 
1988 M. Cabell Woodward, Jr.  Vice Chairman  ITT Corp. 
1989 Robert Kilpatrick  Chairman  CIGNA Corp. 
1990 William A. Schreyer Chairman  Merril Lynch & Co., Inc. 
1991 J. Peter Grace Chairman & CEO  W.R. Grace & Co., Inc. 
1992 George V. Grune Chairman & CEO  The Reader's Digest Association, Inc. 
1993 Gary Bettman  Commissioner  National Hockey League 
1994 Zachary Fisher Chairman  INTREPID Museum Foundation 
    Partner Fisher Brothers 
1995  Paul J. Tagliabue Commissioner  National Football League 
1996  Edward D. Miller President  Chemical Banking Corporation
1997  Donald J. Bainton Chairman & CEO  Continental Canning Company, Inc.
1998  Harry J. Pearce Vice Chairman  General Motors Corporation
1999  Donald W. Hudler CEO  Saturn Retail Enterprises
2000  Philip M. Condit


The Boeing Company 
2001  William H. Donaldson Chairman   Aetna, Inc.
2002  Daniel P. Burnham Chairman & CEO   Raytheon Company
2003  G. Richard Wagoner, Jr. President & CEO   General Motors Corporation
2004 The Honorable Jon S. Corzine Senator New Jersey
2005 Denis A. Bovin Vice Chairman, Investment Banking  Bear, Stearns & Co., Inc.


Soaring Eagle Career Achievement Award

Year Name Title Organization
2004 The Honorable Raymond W. Kelly Police Commissioner City of New York


Globe & Anchor Award

Year Name Title
1972 Bob Hope Movie Actor & Entertainer
1973 Martha Raye Movie Actress
1974 Hugh O'Brian Movie & TV Actor
1976 Col. Ed McMahon USMCR (Ret.) TV Personality
1977 Ray Heatherton Entertainer
1978 John Wayne Movie Actor
2000 John Herschel Glenn, Jr. Senator, Astronaut, Colonel USMC (Ret)
2008 Harry McKillop Associate, Perot Group


Sportsman Award

Year Name Title Organization
1980 Herbert Brooks Coach 1980 U.S. Olympic Gold Medal Hockey Team
1981 David T. Jennings   New York Giants, National Football League
1982 Bobby Thomson   New York Giants, Major League Baseball
1996 Francis A. Tarkenton President & CEO Minnesota Vikings & New York Giants, NFL
1997 Richard Schultz Executive Director  U.S. Olympic Committee 


The Leatherneck Award

Year Name Title Organization
2006 James E. Press President & COO Toyota Motor Sales USA
2007 Bonnie McElveen-Hunter Founder & CEO Pace Communications
2009 William H. Swanson Chairman & CEO Raytheon Company
2010 Chris Bernhardt President ITT Electronic Systems
2010 Paul Mueller Vice President ITT Electronic Systems, Force Protection System
2011 John L. Garrison, Jr. President & CEO Bell Hellicopter/Textron, Inc.
2012 Daniel F. Akerson Chairman & CEO General Motors
2013 Dr. Dean Kamen Chief Executive Officer, President, and CEO DEKA Research and Development Corporation


The Colonel Joseph File Memorial Award

Year Name Title Organization
2006 Laura Landro Assistant Managing Editor The Wall Street Journal
2007 Eric J. Gleacher Chairman Gleacher Partners, LLC
2008 Richard J. Schmeelk Founding Partner CAI
2010 Col. Jennifer N. Pritzker IL ARNG (Ret.)   Chicago Philanthropist & Former MCSF Board Member
2013 Catherine B. Reynolds Chairman and CEO Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation


Lifetime Achievement Award

Year Name Title Organization
2009 Mike Waufle Defensive Line Coach New York Giants


Footer Divider

Neither the United States Marine Corps nor any other component of the Department of Defense has approved, endorsed or authorized this activity. No Federal or United State Marine Corps endorsement intended.

Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation
909 N. Washington Street, Suite 400
Alexandria, VA  22314
Tel: +1703.549.0060  Fax: +1703.549.9474

Contact Us  |  Site Map  |  Stay Connected

© 2013 Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation.
All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

  Student Testimonials  
Facebook icon Twitter icon YouTube icon
Flickr icon LinkedIn icon Pinterst icon


Donate Online Now

Footer Divider